Exclusive: Top 5 Most Unique Records to have Occured in IPL 2020

Shikhar Dhawan’s back-to-back centuries, the highlight as we look at the top 5 most unique historic records of the tournament to have occurred in IPL 2020. 

The year 2020 has been one of the most unique years in history. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the year has seen a change in our eating habits, work habits, travel habits, and entertainment habits. Not just our life, the uniqueness also passed-on to the 13th edition of the hottest tournament in the world, the Indian Premier League.

The 13th edition, IPL 2020 has been no short of excitement. The kind of competition we have seen among all the teams with no clear favourites even until the last week. The kind of unique records that have been set in this season is simply amazing. With that in mind, let’s look at 5 such unique records to have occurred in IPL 2020.

#5: CSK failing to qualify for Play-offs for the first time in IPL

One of the most successful franchises, and probably the most consistent side- Chennai Super Kings under the leadership of IPL’s most successful captain, MS Dhoni failed to qualify for the Play-offs for the first time in the history of the Tournament.

From 2008-2019 (excluding their banned years, 2017 & 2018), CSK had qualified for Play-offs in all the years. In these 10 appearances, they appeared in finals 8 times, and won 3 times; second-best to Mumbai Indians. They made a stunning comeback in 2018 after winning the title, and almost defended it in 2019 against Mumbai Indians.

However, 2020 has made the unimaginable as MS Dhoni failed to inspire the team this time around. While CSK lost Raina and Bhajji before the Tournament, Inconsistent batting-order and poor performance of key bowlers and batsmen were the key reasons why CSK didn’t do well. They won just 6 matches; lowest in history.  

#4: 226/6- Highest Successful Run-chase in IPL by RR

Isn’t that unique that the record that was previously held by the same team, Rajasthan Royals since 2008 was broke by the same franchise, 12 years later? Well, that’s what was written in the destiny as RR pulled-off an incredible chase against KXIP.

Chasing 224, Rajasthan Royals began well with Sanju Samson and Steve Smith scoring superb half-centuries. But, with a struggling Tewatia at one end after losing the in-form Samson, and 64 needed off the last 4 overs, it looked an improbable task for the RR. 

Just when we were cursing Tewatia for his horrid display of batting, Tewatia made a dramatic turn-around. He smashed 30 runs off Sheldon Cottrell’s over to take RR closer to the target. With now just 21 needed in the last two, it felt a cakewalk for RR as Archer’s stunning hitting meant RR won the match in 19.3 overs.       

#3: Twin Super-overs in a Single Match – KXIP vs MI

Before this match, both- Mumbai Indians and Kings XI Punjab had been a part of a Super-over against RCB and Delhi Capitals respectively with both ending on the losing side. However, they would have never imagined that they would be playing another Super-over in the same edition, but also end up playing 2 Super-overs in the same match. Not to forget, on the same day, we had witnessed another Super-over between KKR and SRH, which KKR won dramatically.  

So, chasing 177, KXIP finished on the exact same score as Mumbai Indians, which led to a dramatic second Super-over of the day, and fourth of the season. Bumrah, who bowled the Super-over for Mi gave away just 5 runs. It felt an easy win for MI, but Shami had different thoughts as he bowled stunning yorkers to give away only 5 runs; thus leading to another super-over.

In the second super-over, we had a new batting pair from KXIP as all three batsmen played the super-over, whereas we had Kieron Pollard continuing for MI as he didn’t bat in the first super-over. It was now Jordan’s turn to bowl the first over, which he did decent to give away 11 runs only. Defending 11, Boult couldn’t control his length as Gayle and Mayank finished the match in 4 balls; thus making it the most exciting match in the history of IPL.   

#2: Mohammed Siraj’s Back-to-back Wicket Maidens 

A dream comeback and a fantastic statement by Mohammed Siraj to knock-off all his critics with this 1 golden spell against Kolkata Knight Riders in match 39 of IPL 2020. The Hyderabad born pacer bowled back-to-back wicket maidens, and finished with a fantastic spell of 4-2-8-3. In the process, he became the first bowler in the history of IPL to have bowled back-to-back wicket maidens.   

Bowling first on a green track, Virat Kohli’s impromptu decision to give the new ball to Mohammed Siraj instead of Washington Sundar paid dividends. Siraj’s pace and swing left KKR’s batsmen railing. Coming to bowl the 2nd over, Siraj first got Tripathi, and then bowled a peach to get rid of Rana. He didn’t stop there as in the very next over, he got rid of the dangerous Tom Banton; thus making it back-to-back wicket maidens. Courtesy his bowling, RCB bowled out KKR for 84, and won the match in 13.3 overs. 

 #1: Shikhar Dhawan’s back-to-back Centuries

It took 167 innings for Dhawan to score his maiden IPL century, but as if his maiden IPL century wasn’t surprising, Dhawan surprised everyone by smashing back-to-back centuries in IPL. In the process, Dhawan became the first player in the history of IPL to have scored back-to-back centuries. 

In his maiden IPL century, Shikhar Dhawan scored a match-winning 101(58) to help Delhi Capitals chase a daunting task of 180 against the CSK. Whereas in his second successive century, Dhawan’s  106(61) went in vain as KXIP chased the target of 165 in 19 overs. Nevertheless, these two knocks proved that if Dhawan bats with an aggressive mindset, he can be dangerous. 

Barring these, the other key unique records include,

  • 167 by Shikhar Dhawan– Most innings to reach the maiden IPL hundred
  • 132*(69) – Highest Score by an Indian in IPL by KL Rahul
  • 4/20 – Jasprit Bumrah’s best bowling figures in IPL
  • 2 – Number of times the batsmen have been dismissed on 99 in a single edition of IPL
  • 2 runs – Lowest Super Over Score in IPL
  • 12 –  Highest points scored by the lowest-ranked team in a single season of IPL

Thanks for reading! Which of the above-mentioned unique records did you like the most in IPL 2020? Please mention in the comments 

ALSO READ: BCCI announces the official Team India Squad for Australia Tour 2020-21

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics

2 thoughts on “Exclusive: Top 5 Most Unique Records to have Occured in IPL 2020

Comments are closed.