India vs NZ 2020: 1st T20I Stats Preview and Predicted Playing 11

India vs NZ 2020: Team India set to begin the 40 days long away tour as we look at the stats preview, and the predicted playing 11 for the first T20I.


Occasion First T20I, India vs New Zealand
Location  Auckland
Date & Time  Friday, 24th January 2020, 12:20 pm


New Zealand are one team, Team India do not have a good record against; especially in the shortest format of the game. In the 11 T20Is these two teams have played against each other, India have won only 3 matches, and the rest were won by New Zealand. 

Even the last T20I series in February 2019 saw Team India losing the series 1-2. However, a lot has changed from that series. India, who were without their star players, Virat Kohli, Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, etc. now have all their quality resources available.

The 5-match T20I series, which is set to begin from Friday, Jan 24 would give Team India a perfect opportunity to test their resources before the all-important 2020 T20 World Cup, which is scheduled later this year in Australia. 

While the absence of a few key players like Shikhar Dhawan, Hardik Pandya, Deepak Chahar, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar may affect their team balance, it gives a wonderful opportunity for many aspiring players to seal their spot in the final 15. 

For New Zealand, it is all about continuing with their winning momentum against India. They too have their own challenges in the form of under-performing middle-order, and they would like to test them before the World Cup. Also, the absence of Trent Boult should give a good opportunity to the other young bowlers. 

On that note, let’s look at the stats preview, and the predicted playing 11 for the first T20I between India and New Zealand. 


Overall Matches Played: 11

India: 3 Wins || New Zealand: 8 Wins


261- Most Runs by Brendon Mccullum (NZ)

130.5- Best Batting Average (Min 3 inns and 75 runs) by Brendon Mccullum (NZ)

236.8- Highest Strike Rate (Min 3 inns and 75 runs) by Virender Sehwag (IND)

109(58)- Highest Score by Colin Munro (NZ)

3– Most 50+ Scores by Brendon Mccullum (NZ)

30- Most Fours by Brendon Mccullum (NZ)

17– Most Sixes by Colin Munro (NZ)


11- Most Wickets by Ish Sodhi (NZ)

13.8- Best Bowling Average (Min 3 inns and 3 wickets) by Daryl Mitchell (NZ)

4.8- Lowest Economy Rate (Min 3 inns and 3 wickets) by Harbhajan Singh (IND)

9.5- Lowest Bowling Strike Rate (Min 3 inns and 3 wickets) by Daryl Mitchell (NZ)

4/11- Best Bowling figures by Mitchell Santner (NZ)

1- Most  Maidens by Ashish Nehra (IND)


Openers: Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul (WK) 

Just as we saw Shikhar Dhawan returning to form with back to back fifties against Australia, the shoulder injury ruled him out of the New Zealand tour. That means, KL Rahul should be back to what he does best; open, unless the team management wants him to play at 5.

Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma began his 2020 with a bang as he smashed a well compiled match-winning century in the final ODI against Australia. A lot would be expected from Rohit Sharma, the opener in this 40 days long tour of New Zealand.

Middle-order: Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, and Manish Pandey 

As we thought that we are having a settled middle-order in the form of Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Rishabh Pant, Team India threw a surprise by playing KL Rahul as the primary wicket-keeper, and dropping Rishabh Pant.

Going by Virat Kohli’s post-match presentation after the third ODI, KL Rahul should don the wicket-keeping duties for this series, and Manish Pandey should most likely play at number 5 ahead of Rishabh Pant. While the decision to keep with KL Rahul is certainly debatable, this is how it is going to be for this series at least.  

All-rounders: Shivam Dube and Washington Sundar 

While Virat Kohli has been playing a combination of 6 batsmen and 5 bowlers in ODIs, he does change that a bit by playing 5 batsmen, 2 all-rounders, and 4 bowlers in T20Is. Hence, as we had seen in the last series, Team India may play Shivam Dube and Washington Sundar together. If not, Rishabh Pant should come in the playing 11 for either of  Shivam Dube or Washington Sundar. 

Bowlers: Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, and Navdeep Saini

The bowling combination remains unchanged from the one that played in the ODIs against Australia. The situation does demand Yuzvendra Chahal to be played above Kuldeep Yadav,  but expect Virat Kohli to stick to Kuldeep Yadav as the primary spinner, and Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, and Mohammed Shami as the pace options. 

So, that completes the predicted playing 11 for Team for the first T20I for India vs NZ. Here’s the consolidated predicted line-up for both, India and New Zealand.

India vs NZ First T20I Predicted Playing 11 for Team India:

Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul (WK), Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, and Jasprit Bumrah.

India vs NZ First T20I Predicted Playing 11 for New Zealand: 

Colin Munro, Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson (C), Tim Seifert (WK) Ross Taylor, Colin de Grandhomme, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, and Scott Kuggeleijn. 

ALSO READ: Exclusive: Official Salaries of Indian Cricketers for 2019-20 Revealed

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics