Cricket News

IPL 2024: CSK vs RCB Both Teams Best Playing 11

Ravindra Jadeja and Virat Kohli, the key players in focus as we look at the confirmed playing 11 for CSK vs RCB Game 1 clash for IPL 2024. 

It’s time for the biggest festival in India as the premier T20 tournament in the world, the Indian Premier League comes back in action after a gap of 1 year. It feels only yesterday when CSK defeated the Gujarat Titans, who were chasing their second successive IPL title in a thrilling finale. Nevertheless, with the country in election mode, it’s great to see that BCCI is still able to conduct the tournament in India. 

The first match of IPL 2024 begins with the Chennai Super Kings taking on Royal Challengers Bengaluru, who only recently rebranded themselves from Bangalore to Bengaluru. RCB also went on a change in their t-shirt design, while shifting from Red and Black to Blue and Red. CSK, on the other hand, as they usually do, have no change in their T-shirt design or Brand name. 

Overall, CSK and RCB have faced each other 31 times in the IPL. While CSK have won 20 times, RCB have won only 11 times. The record becomes more bad for RCB, who last defeated Chennai in Chennai in 2008; the starting year of the IPL. But 17 years down the line, will history repeat itself, or CSK continue their dominant streak at home? Well, let’s look at CSK vs RCB confirmed playing 11 for Game 1 of IPL 2024. 

Key Match Details:

Tournament: IPL 2024

Match Type: Game 1 – CSK vs RCB

Where: Chennai, Tamil Nadu

When: March 22, 2023 @ 8 pm IST

IPL 2024: Final Player List for Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Batters: Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sameer Rizvi & Shaik Rasheed 

WKs: Avanish Aravelly, Devon Conway (o) & MS Dhoni (c)

All-rounders: Ajay Mandal, Daryl Mitchell (o), Mitchell Santner (o), Moeen Ali (o), Nishant Sindhu, Rachin Ravindra (o), Ravindra Jadeja & Shivam Dube

Bowlers: Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana (o), Matheesha Pathirana (o), Mukesh Choudhary, Mustafizur Rahman (o), Prashant Solanki, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Shardul Thakur, Simarjeet Singh & Tushar Deshpande

Chennai Super Kings Playing 11

The CSK team have began the 2024 season with a banger. CSK’s prime batsman and opener, Devon Conway will miss at least the first half of IPL 2024 due to injury. Devon Conway has been CSK’s key batter having scored consistently for a good period of time for them. In Conway’s absence, CSK are most-likely to play his NZ teammate Rachin Ravindra. Rachin has been in brilliant form since his debut for NZ, so his presence as CSK’s opener will yield good results.

Another interesting thought with Matheesha Pathirana also not available for the initial few matches is whether to strengthen the bowling by playing Mustafizur Rahman, and play Sameer Rizvi instead of Moeen Ali. Well, the move does seem lucrative. However, with Chennai pitch assisting spin, CSK may continue with Moeen for the initial few matches, and then play Sameer Rizvi for later matches.

Coming to the bowling, CSK will be delighted by the return of their old foe Shardul Thakur. With Thakur added, and Mukesh Choudhary coming back from the injury, even CSK’s highest wicket-taker last season, Tushar Deshpande will have to sit out this season. Nevertheless, with Shardul, Mukesh, Deepak, Jadeja, Moeen, Rachin, and Theekshana, it seems a formidable bowling attack for CSK. 

IPL 2024 – CSK vs RCB Confirmed Playing 11 for Chennai Super Kings:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rachin Ravindra, Ajinkya Rahane, Daryl Mitchell, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Moeen Ali, MS Dhoni (c&wk), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Maheesh Theekshana & Mukesh Choudhary (Impact Player).

CSK Impact Players vs RCB: Sameer Rizvi, Prashant Solanki, Tushar Deshpande & Nishant Sindhu

ALSO READ: IPL 2024: Ranking All 10 Teams for their New Best Playing 11

IPL 2024: Final Players List for Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB)

Batters: Faf du Plessis (c&o), Rajat Patidar, Saurav Chauhan, Suyash Prabhudessai, Virat Kohli & Will Jacks (o)

WKs: Anuj Rawat & Dinesh Karthik

All-rounders: Cameron Green (o), Glenn Maxwell (o), Mahipal Lomror, Manoj Bhandage, Mayank Dagar, Swapnil Singh & Tom Curran (o)

Bowlers: Akash Deep, Alzarri Joseph (o), Himanshu Sharma, Karn Sharma, Lockie Ferguson (o), Mohammed Siraj, Rajan Kumar, Reece Topley (o), Vyshak Vijaykumar & Yash Dayal

Royal Challengers Bengaluru Playing 11 

The Royal Challengers Bengaluru will once again see their premier opening duo, Virat Kohli and Faf du Plessis back as the openers of the squad. With these two confirmed to open, Cameron Green, who himself is a top-order batter will have to mostly play at the number 4 or number 5 position. Interestingly, Rajat Patidar is also back with the squad, so he should play at his usual number 3 position. Whereas Maxwell and Green may shuffle between 4 and 5 respectively. 

In terms of lower-order, RCB have Dinesh Karthik, Mahipal Lomror, and Mayank Dagar as the three designated finishers. Again RCB are spoilt for choices in this domain as they don’t have big names. But talking about backups, RCB have Anuj Rawat, Suyash Prabhudessai, and Manoj Bhandage. With these three set for numbers 6 to 8, we should see Karn Sharma as the leading spinner, and Mohammed Siraj as the leading pacer of the squad. 

Another main issue that RCB will face is the selection of their first-choice Overseas pacer. RCB have three strong names for this particular spot in the form of Alzarri Joseph, Lockie Ferguson, and Reece Topley. Again, this will be an interesting choice as every bowler has their strengths and weaknesses. However, with Mohammed Siraj and Yash Dayal likely to take the new ball, Lockie seems a good bet for the Overseas bowler spot. 

IPL 2024 – CSK vs RCB Confirmed Playing 11 for Royal Challengers Bengaluru:

Faf du Plessis (c), Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Mahipal Lomror, Mayank Dagar, Lockie Ferguson, Mohammed Siraj, Yash Dayal & Karn Sharma (Impact Player).

RCB Impact Players vs CSK: Vyshak Vijaykumar, Anuj Rawat, Swapnil Singh & Suyash Prabhudessai

Top Fantasy Playing 11 for CSK vs RCB Game 1 of IPL 2024: 

Batters: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Faf du Plessis & Virat Kohli 

Wks: Dinesh Karthik

All-rounders: Glenn Maxwell, Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja & Rachin Ravindra

Bowlers: Maheesh Theekshana & Karn Sharma

CVC Choice: Ravindra Jadeja & Faf du Plessis

Thanks for reading! What’s your playing 11 for the CSK vs RCB Match 1 of IPL 2024? Please email your thoughts to

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics