International Cricket

Asia Cup 2022: Updated Squad and Players List for all Teams

All the teams including India and Pakistan have announced their official squad and players list for the Asia Cup 2022 tournament. 

The Asia Cup 2022 is just a week away, and the excitement level is already at its peak. The good news for all the cricketing fans is that all the teams have officially announced the squad for Asia Cup 2022. The five teams who are confirmed to feature in the Asia Cup 2022 include India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Afghanistan.

The final team shall be selected from the Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier, which is already live. Hong Kong, Kuwait, Singapore, and UAE are featuring in Asia Cup 2022 Qualifier. The best-ranked team will qualify to play for Asia Cup 2022. 

So, as we wait for the 6th team to join the Asia Cup 2022 teams, let’s look at the official squad of all the other 5 teams for Asia Cup 2022. For our easy understanding, we will divide the squad into 4 major categories, viz., Batters, Wicket-keepers, All-rounders, and Bowlers. Meanwhile, as per the leading website, Betway, the odds of 2.8 are in favour of India winning the Asia Cup 2022. 

Asia Cup 2022 – Official Squad for Sri Lanka:

The Sri Lanka Cricket team shall be led by All-rounder Dasun Shanaka. Dasun has been the captain of the Sri Lankan team since 2019. Overall, he has led Sri Lanka in 28 T20Is. Out of which, Sri Lanka have won 12 and lost 15. Whereas one ended as a Tie.

Here’s the overall official squad for Sri Lanka. Also, note that Dusmantha Chameera has been ruled out of Asia Cup 2022. Young pacer, Nuwan Thushara has replaced him in the squad.   

Team Strength: 18 // Coach: Chris Silverwood // Captain: Dasun Shanaka

Batters: Ashen Bandara, Nuwanidu Fernando & Pathum Nissanka

Wks: Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dinesh Chandimal & Kusal Mendis

All-rounders: Charith Asalanka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya de Silva & Wanindu Hasaranga

Bowlers: Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Jeffrey Vandersay, Maheesh Theekshana, Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara & Praveen Jayawickrama

Asia Cup 2022 – Official Squad for Bangladesh: 

The Bangladesh Cricket team shall be led by veteran Shakin Al Hasan. Shakib is one of the senior players in the squad. However, the last time Shakib captained Bangladesh in a T20I was in 2019. So, his selection as a Captain is quite interesting.

Overall, Shakib has led Bangladesh in 22 T20Is. Out of which, Bangladesh have won 7 and lost 14. Whereas one T20I was abandoned. Here’s the overall official squad for Bangladesh. Also, Nurul Hasan and Hasan Mahmud were ruled out of Asia Cup 2022. In their place, Mohammad Naib has been added in the squad. 

Team Strength: 16 // Coach: Russell Domingo // Captain: Shakib Al Hasan

Batters: Mohammad Naim, Mosaddek Hossain & Sabbir Rahman

Wks: Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim & Parvez Hossain

All-rounders: Afif Hossain, Mahedi Hasan, Mahmudullah, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin & Shakib Al Hasan

Bowlers: Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, & Taskin Ahmed

Asia Cup 2022 – Official Squad for Afghanistan: 

The Afghanistan Cricket team shall also be led by All-rounder Mohammed Nabi. Nabi has been a regular captain for Afghanistan since October 2021. Under Nabi’s leadership, Afghanistan shall be eyeing their maiden Asia Cup title.

Overall, Afghanistan under Nabi have played 27 T20Is. Out of which, Afghanistan have won 14 and lost 13. Here’s the overall official squad for Afghanistan

Team Strength: 16 // Coach: Lance Klusener // Captain: Mohammad Nabi

Batters: Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran & Najibullah Zadran

Wks: Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai & Rahmanullah Gurbaz, 

All-rounders: Karim Janat, Mohammad Nabi, Rashid Khan & Samiullah Shinwari 

Bowlers: Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Naveen ul Haq & Noor Ahmad, 

Asia Cup 2022 – Official Squad for Pakistan: 

The Pakistan Cricket team squad shall be led by Charismatic Babar Azam. Overall, Babar has led Pakistan in 41 T20Is. Out of which, Pakistan have won 26 and lost 10. Whereas in 5 matches, there was no result.

Here’s the overall official squad for Pakistan. Meanwhile, Shaheen Afridi has been ruled of the Pakistan squad due to a knee injury. Mohammad Hasnain has replaced Shaheen Afridi in the final squad.  

Team Strength: 15 // Coach: Saqlain Mushtaq // Captain: Babar Azam

Batters: Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed & Khushdil Shah

Wks: Mohammad Rizwan

All-rounders: Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim & Shadab Khan

Bowlers: Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani & Usman Qadir

Asia Cup 2022 – Official Squad for Team India: 

Team India shall be led by Rohit Sharma. He was also the Captain for Team India in the 2018 Asia Cup 2018, which India had won. Under Rohit Sharma’s leadership, India have played a total of 35 T20Is. Out of these 35 matches, India have won 29 and lost just 6 matches. Team India are also the defending champions of Asia Cup 2022. So, gere’s the overall official squad for Team India.  

Team Strength: 15 // Coach: Rahul Dravid // Captain: Rohit Sharma 

Batters: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli

Wks: Dinesh Karthik & Rishabh Pant

All-rounders: Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin & Ravindra Jadeja 

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi & Yuzvendra Chahal

The Asia Cup 2022 begins on August 27 with Sri Lanka taking on Afghanistan in Dubai. India will be playing their first match of Asia Cup 2022 vs Pakistan on August 28.  

Thanks for reading! Do you like the Asia Cup 2022 squad for all teams? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2022: The Revamped Format Explained in Detail – What’s New?

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics

2 thoughts on “Asia Cup 2022: Updated Squad and Players List for all Teams

Comments are closed.