Indian Cricket

Latest: Asia Cup 2022 Official Squad Players List for Team India

Rohit Sharma to lead while KL Rahul to be his deputy as we look at the official squad breakdown analysis for Team India for Asia Cup 2022.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Monday announced the official 15-member squad for Team India for Asia Cup 2022. The tournament is scheduled from August 27 to September 11, and will see Rohit Sharma leading the squad with KL Rahul being his deputy. Hardik Pandya, who was the vice-captain in the previous T20 series will make way for KL Rahul. 

Team India have selected 4 batters, 2 wicket-keepers, 4 all-rounders, 3 pacers, and 2 spinners. Given the sub-continent conditions, India felt an additional spinner would help. That’s the reason we are seeing only 3 front-line pacers being selected in the overall squad. This is also an indication of Team India Playing 3 spinners and 3 pacers in their final 11.


Team India have selected Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul as the front-line openers of the squad. The Captain and Vice-captain duo are certain to open as the first-choice options. Meanwhile, Ishan Kishan, who was the backup keeper opener for the last two years has been left out. Instead of him, Suryakumar Yadav and Rishabh Pant shall play the role of backup opener. 

Middle-order and Finishers: 

The middle-order for Team India shall comprise of Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Deepak Hooda, and Suryakumar Yadav. Meanwhile, Team India have 3 players for the role of the finisher. The names include Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, and Dinesh Karthik. Two of these three are certain to be included in the final 11. 


Coming to the spinners, India have finalized 3 options in the form of Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Ravi Bishnoi. Yuzvendra Chahal shall lead the spin attack for Team India. Whereas one of Ashwin or Bishnoi will be included in the final 11 depending on the type of batters in the opposite team. 

Finally, for the front-line pacers, India have 3 options in the form of Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, and Avesh Khan. Ideally, if the pitch suits pace bowling, all three will be included in the final 11. However, if the pitch suits spin bowling, Arshdeep Singh and Bhuvneshwar Kumar shall be the leading pacers. 

Key Absentees

The overall squad seems to be on the extended lines, but 2 players that India would miss the most include Jasprit Bumrah and Harshal Patel. Both of them were certain starters in the final 11. But are now left out of the squad due to injury. While Bumrah has a back injury, Harshal Patel is recovering from a rib injury. 

Apart from the selected 15 players, Team India have also selected Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, and Deepak Chahar as standbys. These three shall be included in the final 15 if any of the selected players get affected by COVID or injury. Unfortunately, neither Ishan Kishan nor Sanju Samson is considered for the role of reserves. 

So, here’s the official squad analysis for Team India for Asia Cup 2022. 

Asia Cup 2022: Official Squad Players List for Team India

Batters: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli 

Wks: Dinesh Karthik & Rishabh Pant 

All-rounders: Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja & Ravichandran Ashwin

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravi Bishnoi & Yuzvendra Chahal

Reserves: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel & Deepak Chahar

Coach: Rahul Dravid // Captain: Rohit Sharma

Asia Cup 2022 begins on August 27. Whereas Team India shall be beginning their Asia Cup 2022 campaign vs Pakistan on August 28th. Supposedly, this shall be Virat Kohli’s 100th T20I match. The final of the prestigious tournament shall be played on September 11. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on Team India’s squad for the Asia Cup 2022? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2022: Official Schedule Announced – Download Now

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics

2 thoughts on “Latest: Asia Cup 2022 Official Squad Players List for Team India

Comments are closed.