IPL 2020: BCCI announces the official schedule of the Tournament

” Please note, IPL 2020 UAE’s schedule is given in the following link. The below-mentioned article was for previously planned IPL 2020 in India”. 

IPL 2020 UAE: Official schedule of the Tournament || Cricalytics

IPL 2020 UAE: Official schedule of the Tournament || Cricalytics

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has officially announced the final schedule of the hottest T20 tournament across the globe, the IPL 2020. As expected, the tournament would begin from 29th March with Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings playing the tournament opener in Mumbai.

One of the key changes in this year’s IPL is the absence of double-headers on Saturday. Only Sundays would have the double-headers starting April 5. The afternoon matches would start at 4 pm, while the evening matches would start at 8 pm as usual. 

The tournament is going to run from 57 days starting 29th March. A total of 60 matches would be played in the tournament including 56 group stage matches, 3 play-offs, and 1 final. The final for IPL 2020 would be played on May 24th, 2020 in Mumbai. However, the schedule for the playoffs and the finale isn’t ou yet. 

Another important announcement is the IPL All-stars face off on 26th March. While there has been no confirmation on the team combination for the match, there are rumours of teams to be formed from the two regions- one from South & West, and the other from North & East. Thus, players from MI, CSK, SRH, and RCB to form 1 team , and players from DC, KXIP, KKR, and RR to form the other team. 


Two of the seven home matches of Rajasthan Royals are due for confirmation. While the 7 franchises would play their home matches in their respective cities, Rajasthan Royals is expected to play two of their home matches in Guwahati instead of Jaipur. The confirmation for the same should be out in a couple of weeks. 

Meanwhile, here’s the official Twitter announcement of the schedule. 



Thanks for reading! What is your take on the schedule? Are you satisfied? Please, let’s know in the comments. 

ALSO READ: IPL 2020: The Strongest All-Stars XI Face-off we would like to see

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics