Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2024: Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Confirmed Retained Squad

Chennai Super Kings to retain 23 players as we look at the confirmed retained squad and players list for CSK for IPL 2024. 

It’s been only a few months since the conclusion of IPL 2023, but we already are in the final stages of the deadline before all 10 teams announce their official retained squad ahead of IPL 2024. The IPL 2024 Mini Auction will be conducted somewhere in the month of Dec or Jan, and the defending Champions, CSK must already be behind in identifying the players that they would like to retain.

The biggest question for them would be whether MS Dhoni will continue to play in the upcoming edition, or they have to look for a new Captain. Thankfully, MS Dhoni has already clarified that he has no intention of retiring, and shall continue to be available for another edition of the Indian Premier League. 

So, with just a couple of months to go before we see Chennai Super Kings officially announce the retained squad for IPL 2024, how about we analyze the current squad, and find out the potential retentions that we are expecting from Chennai Super Kings ahead of IPL 2024 Mini Auction. As usual, we shall break down the analysis into different categories for simplification. 


Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shaikh Rasheed & Subhranshu Senapati

The biggest question for Chennai Super Kings would be to retain Ambati Rayudu for the upcoming edition of IPL. Unfortunately, Ambati Rayudu has announced his retirement from the Indian Premier League, and thus won’t be available any further. With that, CSK’s equation to retain their batters becomes easy.

CSK ‘s star batter and opener, Ruturaj Gaikwad should be the first name on the paper to get retained alongside MS Dhoni. CSK will also look to retain the flamboyant Ajinkya Rahane for yet another year after he delivered a career-defining performance in 2023. Other than these two, we should see CSK retaining the young Subhranshu Senapati and Shaikh Rasheed. 


Devon Conway (o) & MS Dhoni (c)

For the wicket-keepers, things look pretty straightforward for Chennai Super Kings. CSK’s Captain and wicket-keeper MS Dhoni should be the first name on the table to be retained for IPL 2024. Other than him, Devon Conway, who has been quite successful with CSK as an opener should be retained too. 

Spin All-rounders

Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma, Mitchell Santner (o), Moeen Ali (o), Nishant Sindhu & Ravindra Jadeja

Coming to the spin all-rounders, CSK have them in abundance. Ravindra Jadeja should be the first name on the paper when it comes to retaining the spin all-rounders alongside overseas all-rounders Mitchell Santner and Moeen Ali. In addition, CSK should retain the young and promising Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma, and Nishant Sindhu.

Pace All-rounders

Dwaine Pretorius (o) & Shivam Dube

Coming to the pace all-rounders, the main question for CSK should be whether they retain their most expensive player, Ben Stokes. As you know Ben Stokes hardly played in IPL 2023 even after he was adjudged fit. Knowing CSK, they should have continued to invest in Ben Stokes,however as we know, Ben Stokes has opted out. Other than Stokes, Pretorius and Dube should be the pace all-rounders in the squad. 


Maheesh Theekshana (o) & Prashant Solanki

Talking about the primary spinners to be retained in the squad, Chennai Super Kings have only two options to retain, and those are Maheesh Theekshana and Prashant Solanki. Other than retaining these two spinners, CSK have invested a lot in spin-bowling all-rounders as shown above. 


Akash Singh, Deepak Chahar, Matheesha Pathirana (o), Mukesh Choudhary, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh & Tushar Deshpande 

Coming to the pacers to be retained, the main question for CSK shall be whether they retain their original purchase Kyle Jamieson or his replacement Sisanda Magala. By the looks of it, CSK may refrain from retaining any of these two, and shall look for a solid overseas player in the Auction. Thanks to Ambati Rayudu’s salary void, CSK shall have enough to buy a new player. 

Other than this dilemma, CSK’s pace bowling looks pretty sorted. While Deepak Chahar shall continue to lead the pace duties, there’s enough potential and firepower in the form of Akash Singh, Matheesha Pathirana, Mukesh Choudhary, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, and Tushar Deshpande. 

IPL 2024: Predicted Retained Squad List for Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Batters: Ajinkya Rahane, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shaikh Rasheed & Subhranshu Senapati

WKs: Devon Conway (o) & MS Dhoni (c)

All-rounders: Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Varma, Dwaine Pretorius (o), Mitchell Santner (o), Moeen Ali (o), Nishant Sindhu, Ravindra Jadeja & Shivam Dube

Bowlers: Akash Singh, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana (o), Matheesha Pathirana (o), Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh & Tushar Deshpande 

So, that’s about the retained squad and players list for Chennai Super Kings for IPL 2024. Overall, CSK have always been a team to not chop and change much. Given their track record, we should see only two changes in the retained squad as compared to 2023. With an increased purse in 2024, CSK will get good money to buy a couple of players. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your retained Chennai Super Kings (CSK) squad for IPL 2024? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2023: Final Updated Squad Players List for All 6 Teams

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics