International Cricket

India vs Ireland 2023: 1st T20 Official Final Playing 11 for Both

Jasprit Bumrah and Andy Balbirnie to lead as we look at the confirmed best playing 11 for India vs Ireland 1st T20 2023.

The Indian Cricket Team is currently riding on two buses at the moment. While the senior team is currently taking a much-needed rest ahead of the all-important Asia Cup 2023, the Junior team and new Captain Jasprit Bumrah are in Ireland for the 3-match T20 series.

The 3-match Ireland T20 series is not just a platform for the Junior players to make a mark in International cricket, but it is also important for three players, viz., Jasprit Bumrah, Prasidh Krishna, and Sanju Samson, who are in contention for the ODI squad for Asia Cup 2023. 

Apart from these three players, an exciting bunch of talent awaits for all of us to witness. With almost all senior players being rested, the focus will be on the young guns in the form of Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube, etc.

So, with a lot of key players missing, what playing 11 will Team India adopt for the first T20I? Well, with all the important information in hand, let’s look at the confirmed best playing 11 for India vs Ireland 1st T20I 2023. Alongside this, let’s also look at the key match details and official squad for both teams.   

Match Details:

Tournament: India Tour of Ireland 2023

Type: 1st T20I

Where: Dublin, Ireland

When: August 17, 7:30 pm IST

Ireland vs India 2023 – Official T20 Squad List for Team India:

Batters: Rinku Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Jitesh Sharma & Sanju Samson

All-rounders: Shahbaz Ahmed, Shivam Dube & Washington Sundar

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna & Ravi Bishnoi 

Team India’s Best Predicted Playing 11

Openers: Ruturaj Gaikwad & Yashasvi Jaiswal

The Ireland T20 squad for Team India is without their first-choice openers, Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan. That means, India shall see two new openers in the form of Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal. Both are coming from a fantastic IPL 2023, and will be looking to take a step ahead in the International T20 format. 

Middle-order: Sanju Samson (wk), Tilak Varma & Rinku Singh

The middle-order selection will be an interesting one for Team India. Mostly the discussion shall revolve around selecting two between Sanju Samson, Jitesh Sharma, and Rinku Singh. Of the three, Sanju Samson may be preferred as the primary wicket-keeper and senior player in the squad. 

Whereas, between Jitesh Sharma and Rinku Singh, the call will be to select a left-hander or a right-hander finisher. Ideally, Jitesh is a senior player, and should be preferred first. However, given Rinku’s rise through IPL 2023, it won’t be a surprise if Rinku is the preferred finisher ahead of Jitesh Sharma.

Overall, from the batting order perspective, we should see Sanju Samson at 3, unlike the West Indies series, where he batted at 5 or 6. Tilak Varma should continue to play at number 4. Whereas Rinku Singh and All-rounder Shivam Dube may fluctuate at 5 or 6 depending on the match situation.  

All-rounders: Shivam Dube & Washington Sundar

For the all-rounders, Team India have three options in the form of Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, and Shahbaz Ahmed. Of the three, Shivam Dube and Washington Sundar should be the preferred all-rounders for Team India. From batting order per se, Shivam Dube will most likely play at 5 to tackle the spinners, but may come at 6 if his batting comes in death overs. 

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah & Prasidh Krishna

The bowling line-up for Team India will see a complete revamp with Umran Malik, Kuldeep Yadav, and Yuzvendra Chahal missing. Given Ireland’s pace-friendly conditions, India should go ahead with 3 pace and 1 spin combination. While Jasprit Bumrah and Arshdeep Singh should be the primary pacers, Ravi Bishnoi should be the primary spinner.

For the third pacer, India have three options in the form of Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, and Prasidh Krishna. Ideally, Mukesh should continue to play the Ireland series as he did the West Indies series. However, with Prasidh needing match practice, he could be preferred above Mukesh for the initial couple of matches at least.  

Ireland vs India 2023 – 1st T20 Best Predicted Playing 11 for Team India:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wk), Tilak Varma, Shivam Dube, Rinku Singh, Washington Sundar,  Arshdeep Singh, Ravi Bishnoi, Jasprit Bumrah (c) & Prasidh Krishna.

Ireland vs India 2023: Official T20 Series Squad List for Ireland:

Batters: Andy Balbirnie, &

WKs: Lorcan Tucker 

All-rounders: Curtis Campher, Fionn Hand, , &

Bowlers: Barry McCarthy, Ben White,

Ireland’s Best Predicted Playing 11

Coming to Ireland’s playing 11, Paul Stirling shall be leading the squad. Andy and Paul should open the batting with Lorcan, Harry, and Curtis following them. The all-rounders should include George Dockrell, Craig Young, and Mark Adair. Whereas the bowling should comprise Barry McCarthy, Josh Little, and Ben White. 

Ireland vs India 2023 – 1st T20 Best Predicted Playing 11 for Ireland:

Andy Balbirnie, Paul Stirling (c), Lorcan Tucker (wk), Harry Tector, Curtis Cumpher, , Craig Young,

Top Fantasy Players 11 for Ireland vs India 1st T20 2023:

Batters: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Harry Tector, Paul Stirling & Tilak Varma 

Wks: Lorcan Tucker 

All-rounders: Washington Sundar 

Bowlers: Josh Little, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah & Ravi Bishnoi 

CVC Choice: Yashasvi Jaiswal & Ruturaj Gaikwad

Please check our Telegram channel for fresh Fantasy 11 updates based on Toss, ground conditions, etc. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your playing 11 for Ireland vs India 1st T20 2023? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: India vs Australia 2023: Best ODI Squad and Players List for Both Teams

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics