Cricket News

India vs NZ 2020: BCCI announces ODI Squad – Star Player In

India vs NZ 2020 Update: Rohit Sharma has been ruled out of the ODI Squad due to a calf injury; Mayank Agarwal named as the replacement. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced the ODI squad that is going to tour New Zealand later this month. The team sees only one change from the squad that played against Australia. 

Injured Shikhar Dhawan has been replaced by Prithvi Shaw. Shaw is currently representing India A against New Zealand A in New Zealand. He has been in scintillating form recently having already hit a 150.

Dhawan, who suffered a shoulder injury against Australia won’t be able to recover in time, and hence is ruled out of both; T20Is and ODIs. While Prithvi Shaw replaces Dhawan in the ODI squad, Sanju Samson replaces Dhawan in the T20I squad. 

The other key players like Hardik Pandya, Deepak Chahar, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are yet to recover completely from their injuries. Meanwhile, there’s no news on MS Dhoni’s return as the former Indian captain can now only be seen next in the IPL. 

So, here’s the complete squad for Team India for the ODI series vs New Zealand (NZ). 

Team India’s ODI squad for New Zealand series:

Batsmen: KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shreyas Iyer, and Virat Kohli (C).

All-rounders:  Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Shivam Dube

Bowlers: Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, and Yuzvendra Chahal.

Overall, the squad is a good mix of young and experienced players, While Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami are among the core players, the exciting ones are Rishbah Pant, Kuldeep Yadav, and Shreyas Iyer. 

Thanks for reading! Are you satisfied with the team selected by BCCI? Please, share your thoughts on

ALSO READ: India vs NZ 2020: BCCI announces T20I Squad

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics