Indian Premier League

IPL 2023: Best Indian vs Overseas Players 11 of the Tournament

MS Dhoni and Faf du Plessis to lead as we look at the best Indian vs Overseas players 11 of the tournament for IPL 2023. 

The Indian Premier League is designed as a tournament where we see the Indian and Overseas players playing together. Not only does it allow the teams to be more competitive, but it also allows an abundance of knowledge sharing between the players; especially from the Overseas players to young Indian players.

The IPL 2023 saw some outstanding performances from Indian players and overseas players from different countries. In an ideal scenario, the best 11 of the tournament is selected keeping a maximum of 4 overseas players in mind. But that kind of undermines the performance of a lot of overseas players due to this trivial rule.

So, to minimize that damage, how about we look at the top 11 Indian and Overseas players based on their performance in IPL 2023? Well, a match between these players is a match made in heaven, and having such a match would be an epic battle, but for now, it is still in the ideation stage. 

Cricalytics Stats Wizard Methodology:

Batting: The batting performances are analyzed basis of the batting rating calculated from the overall aspect of the game such as runs scored, consistency, the number of match-winning & good knocks, acceleration bonus, and power-hitting bonus. 

Bowling: The bowling performances are analyzed basis of the bowling rating calculated from the overall aspect of the game such as wickets taken, consistency, the number of match-winning and good spells, the number of maidens bowled, and the economy rate bonus.

IPL 2023 Best Indian vs Overseas Players 11 of the Tournament:


Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal & Virat Kohli vs Devon Conway, Faf du Plessis & Cameron Green

If we talk about the best top-order based on India and Overseas players, we have Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Virat Kohli making the best top-order for the Indian 11. Whereas Devon Conway, Faf du Plessis, and Cameron Green make up the best top-order for Overseas 11.

Shubman Gill has been outstanding this year having won the Orange Cap with 890 runs to his name. Whereas Yashasvi Jaiswal has been the best uncapped batter with a total of 625 runs to his name. After two years of lull, Virat Kohli has made a solid comeback to be the fourth-highest run-getter with 639 to his name. 

In competition, Faf du Plessis has been the best overseas batter with 730 runs under his belt. Devon Conway has been a torch bearer for CSK with a total of 672 runs under his belt. Whereas Cameron Green has been the shining light on his debut for MI with a superb 452 runs and 6 wickets to his name.  


Suryakumar Yadav & Rinku Singh vs Glenn Maxwell & Marcus Stoinis

For the middle-order, we have Suryakumar Yadav and Rinku Singh for Team Indian 11. Whereas for Team Overseas 11, we have Glenn Maxwell and Marcus Stoinis. It is tough to choose between the two teams, but the combination of Suryakumar Yadav and Rinku looks good from a stats perspective. 

Suryakumar Yadav, the leading run-getter for MI has scored a solid 605 runs at a strike rate of 181.1. Whereas Glenn Maxwell, the G of RCB’s KGF has scored a solid 400 runs at an amazing strike rate of 183.5. Rinku, the leading run-getter for KKR has scored 474 runs batting at 5 or below. Similarly, Stoinis has 408 runs this year at a similar strike rate of 150. 


MS Dhoni & Ravindra Jadeja vs Nicholas Pooran & Heinrich Klaasen

From the finisher’s point of view, it is tough to choose between the two as we have the Captain and Wicket-keeper MS Dhoni and All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja for Indian 11. In competition, we have the wicket-keeping duo of Nicholas Pooran and Heinrich Klaasen for Overseas 11.

MS Dhoni doesn’t have a lot of runs this year, but his cameos have been crucial and special, and the time he came to bat, the moment was cherished by all his fans across the world. What’s more, his Captaincy was A+ this year. Ravindra Jadeja has been the best all-rounder this year with 190 runs and 20 wickets to his name. 

In competition, Pooran has been a top-notch player for LSG this year as he managed to score 358 runs at a brilliant strike rate of 172.9. if not for that poor Lucknow pitch, he would have had a better record. Meanwhile, Klaasen has been the best SRH batter this year with 448 runs to his name at a brilliant strike rate of 177. 


Piyush Chawla, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj & Mohit Sharma vs Rashid Khan, Trent Boult, Matheesha Pathirana & Noor Ahmad

Coming to the bowling, the competition seems immense with brilliant firepower in both teams. We have Piyush Chawla, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, and Mohit Sharma for Indian 11. And we have Rashid Khan, Trent Boult, Matheesha Pathirana, and Noor Ahmad for Team Overseas 11. 

Piyush Chawla, the best Indian spinner has taken 22 wickets this year, and is the fourth-highest wicket-taker overall. Siraj has continued his stunning form by being RCB’s best bowler with 19 wickets to his name. Whereas the duo of Shami and Mohit needs to mention. They are the leading wicket-taker this year with 28 and 27 wickets to them respectively. 

The overseas 11 has a combination of two spinners and two pacers with support from Green, Maxi, and Stoinis. Rashid Khan has been the best spinner of IPL 2023 with 27 wickets to his name. His teammate, Noor has been good too with 16 wickets to his name from 13 matches.

Meanwhile, Pathirana has been the best death overs bowler with 19 wickets to his name. He was the reason why CSK were so good between 15-20 overs. Finally, Boult hasn’t been as good as the Indian pacers, but has looked potent in the powerplay. Boult managed to take a solid 13 wickets from the 10 games he played for RR. 

IPL 2023 – The Best Indian Players 11 of the Tournament:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rinku Singh,  MS Dhoni (c&wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Piyush Chawla, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj & Mohit Sharma

IPL 2023 – The Best Overseas Players 11 of the Tournament:

Faf du Plessis (c), Devon Conway, Cameron Green, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Nicholas Pooran (wk), Henrich Klaasen,  Rashid Khan, Noor Ahmad, Matheesha Pathirana & Trent Boult

Thanks for reading! What’s your best Indian Players 11 for IPL 2023? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: IPL 2023: The Cost Efficient and Best Bang for Buck 11 Explained

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics

One thought on “IPL 2023: Best Indian vs Overseas Players 11 of the Tournament

Comments are closed.