International Cricket

Team India T20 Squad for South Africa Series – Key Takeaways

Hardik Pandya returns as we look at the key takeaways from Team India T20 squad for the SA series.

After beating the T20 specialists, West Indies 3-0 in their own den, Team India are set to begin their next T20 assignment as they take on South Africa.

The squad against West Indies had few surprises as MS Dhoni opted out, while Hardik Pandya and Jasprit Bumrah being rested. Team India primarily focused on nurturing the young guns keeping ICC World T20 2020 in mind.

So, what are the chances this time around? Let’s look at the key takeaways from Team India T20 squad for the SA series. 


MS Dhoni has once again decided to opt-out of the T20I series having taken a 2-month sabbatical leave. He is currently holidaying in the US after serving the Indian Paramilitary regiment for a month. 

So, the entire curiosity around his retirement has once again been given the spark. Fans, Critics, etc., have been waiting in anticipation of his major announcement. However, for the time being, all the rumors are being put to rest. 

Meanwhile, with MS Dhoni not being there, Rishabh Pant would once again handle the wicket-keeping duties for the T20Is. 


After being rested for the entire West Indies tour, Hardik Pandya returns to Team India’s T20I squad. 

Surprisingly, he replaces Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who had impressive returns in T20s against West Indies. It is also not known whether he is dropped or rested. 

Moreover, with the return of Hardik Pandya, Team India have got their key batting all-rounder, who was badly missed in the limited-overs matches against West Indies. 


With no Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Mohammed Shami, Team India are once again looking to give chance to their young lads, who impressed in the West Indies series. 

The likes of Navdeep Saini and Deepak Chahar had wonderful outings with the ball in the T20I series. While Saini ended as the leading wicket-taker in the T20Is, Chahar bagged the player of the match award in the solo match he played. 

Apart from these three, all eyes would be on Rahul Chahar, Manish Pandey, and Shreyas Iyer. These guys have got another chance to impress the team management before the 2020 T20 World Cup. 


So, looking at the team, it is pretty much clear from the Team management that they are looking to nurture the young talent keeping the 2020 T20 World Cup in mind. 

We just hope, the likes of Pant, Pandey, Iyer, etc. produce some match-winning knocks in the series. While, Saini, Khaleel, and Chahar brothers, etc., produce some match-winning spells. 

Here’s the complete Team India’s complete T20I squad for the South Africa series. 

Team India T20I squad for SA series:

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit (VC), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (WK), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, and Navdeep Saini. 

ALSO READ: World Test Championship 2019-21: Finalists Prediction and Fixtures Analysis

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics

One thought on “Team India T20 Squad for South Africa Series – Key Takeaways

Comments are closed.