T20 World Cup

India Team’s Official Squad Players List for T20 World Cup 2022

Rohit Sharma to lead and KL Rahul to be his deputy as we look at the official squad players list for Team India for T20 World Cup 2022. 

Such is the planning and execution of the Indian team that 5 days ahead of the official deadline, BCCI has officially announced the squad for the T20 World Cup 2022. Even as Team India got knocked out of the Asia Cup 2022, Team India have retained 14 members from the Asia Cup squad; of course minus the injury rule-outs. 

Overall, BCCI has selected a 15-member squad along with 4 stand-by players; unlike the T20 World Cup 2021, where only 3 players were announced as stand-bys. The squad seems to be on the expected lines apart from a few surprise inclusions, which we will discuss in the article. 

With this insight, let’s look at the key takeaways from India Team’s official squad list for T20 World Cup 2022. Meanwhile, as per a leading cricket website, Betway, the Australia Cricket team have the best odds when it comes to winning the tournament. 

No Ravindra Jadeja 

The biggest exclusion from the Indian team is the absence of India’s premier all-rounder, Ravindra Jadeja. The unfortunate circumstances of a knee injury has ruled Ravindra Jadeja out of the T20 World Cup 2022. With Jadeja not there, India have roped in a like-for-like replacement in the form of Axar Patel. 

Mohammed Shami as Stand-by 

Another biggest takeaway for the Indian team is the inclusion of Team India’s ODI and Test specialist, Mohammed Shami. Although Mohammed Shami isn’t present in the official 15-member squad, his inclusion as a stand-by itself is a surprise. With Bumrah and Harshal succumbing to injuries, Team India have kept Mohammed Shami as a stand-by in case anyone of Bumrah or Harshal is ruled out. 

4 Pacers

Team India have selected 4 pacers in the squad unlike Asia Cup 2022, where India only selected 3 pacers. With Harshal Patel and Jasprit Bumrah returning to the squad, Team India have left out Avesh Khan. With Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh as the other two pacers, Team India now have 4 pacers in the squad excluding all-rounder Hardik Pandya. 

Same Set of Batters

Team India have selected the same set of Batters that played in the Asia Cup 2022. This includes Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul as openers, who are also the Captain and Vice Captain respectively. Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Rishabh Pant as middle-order options. Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya, and Dinesh Karthik as finishers. 

Three Spin options

Unlike Asia Cup 2022, where India had 4 spin options, India have selected only three spin options for T20 World Cup 2022 given pace-friendly conditions in Australia. Yuzvendra Chahal shall be the primary spinner of the squad. He shall be supported by Ravichandran Ashwin, the off-spinner and Axar Patel, the left-arm spinner. 


Coming to stand-bys, Team India have selected 4 options. This includes Pacers Mohammed Shami and Deepak Chahar. Middle-order Shreyas Iyer, and Spinner Ravi Bishnoi. The stand-bys shall only come in the actual squad if any of the 15 players are ruled out of T20 World Cup 2022 due to injury or COVID issues. 

T20 World Cup 2022 – Official Squad Players List for Team India: 

Batters: KL Rahul, Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli

Wks: Dinesh Karthik & Rishabh Pant

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda, Hardik Pandya & Ravichandran Ashwin 

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah & Yuzvendra Chahal

Stand-bys: Shreyas Iyer, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Shami & Deepak Chahar

Coach: Rahul Dravid // Captain: Rohit Sharma // Vice-captain: KL Rahul

So, that’s about the official squad for Team India for T20 World Cup 2022. With T20 World Cup 2022 Scheduled to take place in Australia, India have selected a potent squad that is looking solid to reign the trophy later in November. Hopefully, we don’t see any more injuries in the squad, which could be problematic. 

Thanks for reading! What’s your take on India Team’s squad for Team India for T20 World Cup 2022? Please email your comments to business@cricalytics.com

ALSO READ: India vs South Africa 2022: Predicted ODI Series Squad for Team India

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics