Cricket News

India vs England 2021: BCCI Announces the Official ODI Squad

Rohit Sharma returns as we look at the official Team India squad for the 2021 ODI series vs England. 

After a lot of waiting, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has finally announced the ODI squad for the upcoming 2021 ODI series between India and England. An 18-member squad has been selected that includes 8 batsmen, 3 all-rounders, and 7 bowlers.

The big news is the return of Team India’s vice-captain, Rohit Sharma, who last played an ODI in Jan, 2020 against Australia. Apart from Rohit, the team management has maintained the trend of not sticking to the regular members as many new faces make it to the squad. 

So, let’s look at the official squad for Team India for the ODI series vs England. 

Key Changes:

The team sees 8 changes from the squad that played the last ODI series vs Australia. The ones that are dropped include Mayank Agarwal, Navdeep Saini, and Sanju Samson. While Mayank Agarwal and Navdeep Saini are dropped for performance issues, Sanju Samson gets dropped without even featuring in a single match from the ODI series vs Australia.

The ones that are rested include Jasprit Bumrah, Manish Pandey, Mohammed Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja. Jasprit Bumrah is on official leave for his marriage and post marriage ceremonies. Whereas Manish Pandey, Mohammed Shami, and Ravindra Jadeja are yet to recover fully from their injuries. 

The team sees the return of experienced pros, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant, and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. All three are currently part of the T20I series vs England, and given their availability, they return to the ODI squad. Also, after a stunning return to form in the Test series, Rishabh Pant is now perceived as Team India’s primary wicket-keeper in all three formats.     

New Inclusions:

The team sees 5 new inclusions to the squad in the form of Krunal Pandya, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav & Washington Sundar. Among the 5, Krunal Pandya and Prasidh Krishna are included in the squad on account of their fabulous performance in the recently concluded 2021 Vijay Hazare Trophy.

Suryakumar Yadav, who had stunning returns in the fourth T20I vs England has been included as the key finisher of the squad for Manish Pandey. It was a long time coming for Suryakumar Yadav, who has been banging on the selectors’ doors for his inclusion in the limited-overs squad after performing heavily in Domestic Cricket.

Meanwhile, Mohammed Siraj and Washington Sundar make a surprising return to the squad. Both haven’t featured in the ODI squad for the last 2 years. However, they have been rewarded for their consistent run in the last few months in International cricket. 

So, that’s the news from Team India’s ODI squad vs England. The team shall be relying on the regular members for a successful ODI series. The batting department shall be front-ended by Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, captain Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Shreyas Iyer. Whereas all-rounder and bowling duties shall front-ended by Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Hardik Pandya, Yuzi Chahal, and T Natarajan. 

India vs England 2021: Team India’s Official ODI Squad: 

Batsmen: KL Rahul (WK), Rishabh Pant (WK), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav & Virat Kohli (C)

All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya & Washington Sundar

Bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur, T Natarajan & Yuzvendra Chahal

Meanwhile, here’s the complete schedule for India vs England ODI series. While the T20I series was entirely played in Ahmedabad, the ODI series shall be played entirely in Pune. 

  • 1st Match: Pune // March 23
  • 2nd Match: Pune // March 26 
  • 3rd Match: Pune // March 28

Thanks for reading! Are you happy with Team India’s squad for the ODI series vs England? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: Exclusive: Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021 Dream Team of the Tournament

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics

2 thoughts on “India vs England 2021: BCCI Announces the Official ODI Squad

Comments are closed.