Cricket News

West Indies vs India 2022: Official ODI Series Squad Players List

Shikhar Dhawan to lead as we look at the official squad players list for Team India for the 2022 ODI series vs West Indies.

The BCCI on Wednesday announced the official squad for Team India for the 2022 West Indies ODI series. BCCI had recently announced the squad for the England ODI series. While the series is yet to begin, they have already decided to rest its key players for the not-so-important ODI series vs the West Indies. 

As compared to England where 17 players were selected, the ODI series vs West Indies sees only 16 players. Apart from Hardik Pandya, as many as 5 players who are also a part of the Test squad have been rested. The likes of which include Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rishabh Pant, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah. 

Hardik Pandya, who only plays limited-overs has been rested too on account of workload management. It is important to note that ODIs arent the priority this year, and West Indies aren’t a strong team to send a full-strength squad; hence, his rest seems logical. Apart from the above players, KL Rahul, Deepak Chahar and Kuldeep Yadav are yet to recover; hence have not been selected.

With Rohit Sharma rested too, Shikhar Dhawan has been named as the Captain of the squad and Ravindra Jadeja shall be his deputy. This is another new CVC pair for Team India as preciously Rishabh Pant and Hardik Pandya led India for the first time. Dhawan had last led India in 2022 for the Sri Lanka series, and being an integral member of the ODI Squad, he is back as Captain. 

New Additions:

Coming to the new players who have been selected. This includes the batters like Ruturaj Gaikwad. Shubman Gill, and Sanju Samson. Deepak Hooda has been selected for the all-rounder position. Whereas Avesh Khan has been selected as a replacement pacer for Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami. 

Interestingly, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson, Deepak Hooda, and Avesh Khan are already a part of Team India’s T20I squad. It makes complete sense for them to get a call for ODIs. However, Shubman Gill’s selection is a surprise. Until now, Mayank Agarwal and Prithvi Shaw were front runners for the opening position. But it seems Team India wants to try Gill now.

Apart from the above, BCCI seems to have moved on from Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dinesh Karthik from the ODI format. It seems as if BCCI wants these two to focus on T20Is only. Nevertheless, here’s the official ODI squad players list for Team India for the 2022 tour of the West Indies. Meanwhile, According to Betway, for the England series, Team India start as favourites with winning odds set at 1.8 vs England’s 1.90. 

West Indies vs India 2022 – Official ODI Series Squad Players List for Team India: 

Batters: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Shubman Gill & Suryakumar Yadav 

Wks: Ishan Kishan & Sanju Samson 

All-rounders: Axar Patel, Deepak Hooda & Ravindra Jadeja 

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Shardul Thakur & Yuzvendra Chahal

Coach: Rahul Dravid // Captain: Shikhar Dhawan // V.Captain: Ravindra Jadeja

Coming to the schedule, the 3-match ODI series shall begin on July 22, and will end on July 27. All matches shall be played in Port of Spain.  

Meanwhile, here’s the schedule for West Indies vs India 2022 ODI Series:

  • 1st ODI // July 22 // Port of Spain 
  • 2nd ODI // July 24 // Port of Spain 
  • 3rd ODI // July 27 // Port of Spain 

Thanks for reading! Which new players are you excited to see from the ODI series vs West Indies? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: Exclusive: Ranji Trophy 2022 Combined Best 11 of the Season

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics