Cricket News

India vs NZ 2020: BCCI announces Test Squad for Indian Team

India vs NZ 2020: Jasprit Bumrah returns as BCCI announces the squad for the Test series against New Zealand.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has recently announced the Test squad for the upcoming Test series against New Zealand. The 2-match Test series sees two major changes as Team India’s best bowler, Jasprit Bumrah returns to the squad after a long gap of more than 5 months, and Rohit Sharma has been left out of the squad owing to a calf injury. 

Jasprit Bumrah, last played the test series against West Indies in September last year, and since then has been out due to injury. He didn’t play the home series against South Africa and Bangladesh, and is yet to play a Test match at home. 

Rohit Sharma, meanwhile, has been ruled out due to a calf injury. He suffered the injury in the final T20I against New Zealand. He has already been ruled out of the ODI Squad. While Mayank is his replacement in the ODIs, Shubman Gill has been named as the replacement in the Test squad. 

The team also sees the return of Prithvi Shaw, who assumingly should lead the opening duties alongside Mayank Agarwal. 

Given the nature of the pitches, Kuldeep Yadav has also been left out of the squad. Navdeep Saini has replaced him. Team India are going to play two Test matches starting on 21 February. This shall be part of the World Test Championship 2019-21, which India are leading with 360 points. 

So, here’s the complete squad for Team India for the Test series vs New Zealand (NZ). 

Team India’s Test squad for New Zealand series:

Batsmen: Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Mayank Agarwal, Prithvi Shaw, Rishabh Pant (WK), Shubman Gill,  Virat Kohli (C), and Wriddhiman Saha (WK).

All-rounders:  Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja

Bowlers: Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Navdeep Saini, and Umesh Yadav. 

Thanks for reading! Are you satisfied with the team selected by BCCI? Please, share your thoughts on

ALSO READ: India vs NZ 2020: T20I Series Player Performance Ratings (Report Card)

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics