SA20 2023 Auction: Final Squad and Players List for All 6 Teams

Six teams select 17 players each as we look at the official final squad players list for all 6 teams for the SA20 2023 league post mega auction.

The South Africa T20 league, also called SA20 begins a new chapter in South African cricket. The country has been severely affected by financial and political problems, but with the support of Indian-owned franchises, the league promises to be an attempt to improve their financial disarray. 

For starters, who may be new to the league, the SA20 league consists of six teams owned by none other than the Indian Premier League respective owners. Six IPL origin franchise have named their teams as Durban’s Super Giants, Joburg Super Kings, MI CapeTown, Paarl Royals, Pretoria Capitals, and Sunrisers Eastern Cape. 

The tournament was initiated after six teams retained a few players, and it continued with the IPL-style Mega Auction scheduled on September 19. The teams were able to stalk up a total of 17 players each post the Mega Auction with a maximum of 7 overseas players in their squad. 

Auction Highlights: 

Tristian Stubbs managed to become the costliest buy at the Auction after being purchased by SEC with the Auction value set at R 9.2 Million (INR 4.15 Crores). Apart from him, some of the other costly buys include Rilee Rossouw for R 6.9 Million, Marco Jansen for R 6.1 Million, Wayne Parnell for R 5.6 Million, and Donavon Ferreira for R 5.5 Million.

Meanwhile, the schedule for the league is not out yet, but SA20 2023 is expected to debut in February 2023. So, as we wait for the official announcement for the schedule and other key details, let’s look at the official final squad players list for all 6 teams post Mega Auction. Meanwhile, as per a leading website, parimatch, MI Cape Town seem to have the best squad overall. 

All Teams Squad for SA20 Post Mega Auction: 

SA20 – Official Squad for Durban’s Super Giants

Batters: Christiaan Jonker & Matthew Breetzke,

Wks: Heinrich Klaasen, Johnson Charles & Quinton de Kock

All-rounders: Dwaine Pretorius, Jason Holder, Keemo Paul, Kyle Mayers, Prenelan Subrayen, Wiaan Mulder,

Bowlers: Dilshan Madushanka, Junior Dala, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Abbott, Reece Topley & Simon Harmer

Team Strength: 17 // Coach: Lance Klusener // Captain: 

IPL franchise, Lucknow Super Giants owns Durban’s Super Giants team. The squad has Lance Klusener in the coaching department. It also has some of the key Lucknow Super Giants players including Quinton de Kock, Jason Holder, and Kyle Mayers. 

SA20 – Official Squad for Joburg Super Kings

Batters: Faf du Plessis, Harry Brook, Janneman Malan, Leus du Plooy & Reeza Hendricks

Wks: Donavon Ferreira & Kyle Verreynne

All-rounders: Caleb Seleka, George Garton, Lewis Gregory, Malusi Siboto, Nandre Burger & Romario Shepherd 

Bowlers: Alzarri Joseph, Lizaad Williams, Maheesh Theekshana & Gerald Coetzee 

Team Strength: 17 // Coach: Stephen Fleming // Captain: Faf du Plessis

IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings owns the Joburg Super Kings team. The roots of the franchise remain the same with Stephen Flemming being the coach for JSK too. It also has former CSK player Faf du Plessis in the leadership role.  

SA20 – Official Squad for MI Cape Town

Batters: Dewald Brevis, Rassie van der Dussen & Wesley Marshall 

Wks: Grant Roelofsen & Ryan Rickelton

All-rounders: Delano Potgieter, George Linde, Liam Livingstone, Odean Smith & Sam Curran

Bowlers: Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Olly Stone, Rashid Khan, Waqar Salamkheil & Ziyaad Abrahams

Team Strength: 17 // Coach: T.B.D.  // Captain: T.B.D. 

IPL franchise Mumbai Indians owns the MI CapeTown team. Unlike any other franchise, the MIC squad has some really dangerous names. The includes the likes of Liam Livingstone, Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Dewald Brevis, Sam Curran, and Odean Smith. 

SA20 – Official Squad for Paarl Royals

Batters: David Miller, Jason Roy, Eoin Morgan, Mitchell van Buuren & Wihan Lubbe

Wks: Dane Vilas & Jos Buttler

All-rounders: Codi Yusuf, Corbin Bosch, Evan Jones & Imraan Manack

Bowlers: Bjorn Fortuin, Ferisco Adams, Lungi Ngidi, Obed McCoy, Ramon Simmonds & Tabraiz Shamsi,

Team Strength: 17 // Coach: T.B.D. // Captain: David Miller

 IPL franchise Rajasthan Royals owns the Paarl Royals team. The PR squad shall be led by David Miller. The squad also has some really good buys like Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Lungi Ngidi, Jason Roy, Eoin Morgan, and Tabraiz Shamsi. 

SA20 – Official Squad for Pretoria Capitals

Batters: Cameron Delport, Marco Marais, Rilee Rossouw,  Theunis de Bruye & Will Jacks

Wks: Kusal Mendis & Phil Salt

All-rounders: Eathan Bosch, Jimmy Neesham & Shane Dadswell

Bowlers: Adil Rashid, Anrich Nortje, Daryn Dupavillon, Josh Little, Migael Pretorius, Shaun von Berg & Wayne Parnell

Team Strength: 17 // Coach: Graham Ford // Captain: T.B.D.

IPL franchise Delhi Capitals owns the Pretoria Capitals team. The squad has some interesting buys in the form of Anrich Nortje, Adil Rashid, Wayne Parnell, Rille Rossow, Kusal Mendis, Phil Salt, and Jimmy Neesham. 

SA20 – Official Squad for Sunrisers Eastern Cape

Batters: Marques Ackerman & Sarel Erwee 

Wks: Adam Rossington, Jordan Cox & Tristan Stubbs

All-rounders: Aya Gqamane, Brydon Carse, Aiden Markram, James Fuller, JJ Smuts, Marco Jansen, Roelof van der Merwe & Tom Abell

Bowlers: Junaid Dawood, Mason Crane, Ottniel Baartman & Sisanda Magala

Team Strength: 17 // Coach: Adrian Birrell // Captain: T.B.D.

The final team of the lot, the Sunrisers Eastern Cape is owned by IPL franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad owners. The squad has a lot of interesting players including the costliest buy of the Auction, Tristian Stubbs. The other key players include Aiden Markram, Marco Jansen, and Roelof van der Merwe

So, that’s about the final squad players list for all 6 teams for the SA20 league. With the brand of IPL owners like CSK, MI, and others, the South Africa League, if handled well has the potential to become the second-hottest league after the Indian Premier League. Hopefully, the league also improves the financial status of South African cricket, and make them less reliant on ICC for the funds. 

Thanks for reading! Do you like the SA20 all teams squad players? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: T20 World Cup 2022 – Official Squad Players List for All 16 Teams

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics