Indian Cricket

India vs Ireland 2023: Strongest T20 Playing 11 for Indian Team

Jasprit Bumrah back as leader as we look at the strongest playing 11 for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs Ireland. 

The Indian T20 team doesn’t seem to be going through a good phase currently. The West Indies team, which isn’t at its best after being knocked out of ODI World Cup 2023 is currently giving a hard time to the Indian team by winning the first two matches of the series. It isn’t a pleasing sight for Team India, who supposedly have a young but strong squad. 

Post the 5-match T20 series vs West Indies, the Indian team will then shift their focus to the 3-match T20 series vs Ireland, which has a slightly revamped squad along with the change in leadership. Hardik, who is the primary T20 Captain for India has been rested for Ireland series, and Jasprit Bumrah shall lead the squad in his absence. 

The Ireland series sees quite a few new additions to the squad. This will see a huge change in the playing 11 from what we are seeing in West Indies. Some of the new additions for the T20 series vs Ireland include Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube, Jasprit Bumrah, and Prasidh Krishna.  

So, having the official squad in front of us, let’s analyze all players, and look at the strongest playing 11 for Team India for the 2023 T20 series in Ireland. Meanwhile, let’s look at the complete official squad for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs Ireland. 

India vs Ireland 2023 Official T20 Squad for Team India:

Batters: Rinku Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma & Yashasvi Jaiswal

WKs: Jitesh Sharma & Sanju Samson

All-roundersShahbaz Ahmed, Shivam Dube & Washington Sundar

Bowlers: Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Jasprit Bumrah, Mukesh Kumar, Prasidh Krishna & Ravi Bishnoi 

Team India’s Strongest Predicted T20 Playing 11 vs Ireland 

Openers – Ruturaj Gaikwad & Yashasvi Jaiswal

Team India rested their first-choice openers, Shubman Gill and Ishan Kishan for the T20 series vs Ireland. That means, in their absence, there are only two options in front of us, and those are Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal. With the lack of a primary third opener, we should see Ruturaj Gaikwad and Yashasvi Jaiswal opening the batting for Team India. 

Middle-order – Sanju Samson (wk), Tilak Varma & Rinku Singh

Coming to the middle-order, Suryakumar Yadav has been rested. So, in his absence, we should see Rinku Singh making his debut, and playing the role of a finisher. From the batting order perspective, Sanju Samson shall play at 3, Tilak Varma at 4, and Rinku Singh at 5. However, there could be a scenario where we see Jitesh Sharma in place of Rinku Singh, being in contention for the squad before Rinku. But that looks unlikely for now. 

Finishers – Shivam Dube & Washington Sundar

Coming to the finisher all-rounders, none of Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, or Axar Patel are in the squad. This means, two of Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, and Shahbaz Ahmed should be in the playing 11. Of the three, Shivam Dube should play at number 6. Whereas Washington Sundar should be preferred above Shahbaz Ahmed for more experience and better bowling ability. 

Bowlers – Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah (c) & Prasidh Krishna

Coming to the bowling line-up, India have added Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna to the squad. Hence, these two should definitely play as it would act as a good match practice ahead of all the ODI matches. Other than these two, the third pacer position should go to Arshdeep Singh, who is India’s best T20 pacer currently. 

Finally, with Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav rested for Asia Cup 2023, Ravi Bishnoi shall lead the spin duties for Team India. Bishnoi is the only designated spinner in the squad, and with him leading the spin duties, Washington Sundar shall play the role of the second spinner in the squad. 

India vs Ireland 2023 – Strongest T20 Series Playing 11 for Team India:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson (wk), Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah (c) & Prasidh Krishna

So, that’s about the strongest playing 11 for Team India for the 2023 T20 series vs Ireland. Overall, 9 players select for themselves. The only debatable options are the position of Rinku Singh and Shivam Dube. With so many left-handers in the 11, it won’t be a bad idea to play Jitesh Sharma as the finisher in place of Rinku Singh or Shivam Dube. 

The Ireland series shall act as a great comeback opportunity for Jasprit Bumrah and Prasidh Krishna. Both these bowlers are in contention for the ODI World Cup, and the Ireland series will provide great match practice for them. Meanwhile, let’s look at the official schedule for India vs Ireland T20 series.  

India vs Ireland 2023 T20 Series Schedule:

  • 1st T20I @ Dublin – August 18, 7:30 pm IST
  • 2nd T20I @ Dublin – August 20, 7:30 pm IST
  • 3rd T20I @ Dublin – August 23, 7:30 pm IST

Thanks for reading! What’s your India vs Ireland 2023 T20 series playing 11? Please email your thoughts to

ALSO READ: Asia Cup 2023: Confirmed Squad and Players List for Team India

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics