Cricket News

Sneak Peek into the official Salaries of Indian Players for 2019-20

MS Dhoni left out as BCCI announces the salaries of Indian players for 2019-2020. 

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in its latest update has announced the updated annual salaries of all Indian Cricketers for 2019-20. A total of 27 Men Cricketers have been given a contract, out of which, 10 are batsmen, 4 are all-rounders, 11 are bowlers, and only 2 wicket-keepers are included in the form of Rishabh Pant and Wriddhiman Saha. Whereas, women Cricketers see a total of 22 players being awarded a contract. 

Among Men Cricketers, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, and Jasprit Bumrah have been retained in the top contractual bracket, Grade A+ with INR 7 CR. The three are Team India’s core representatives in all the formats, and are considered among the best in the world. 

While most of the people have retained their contract with the same grade, KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha have been upgraded to Grade A and Grade B respectively. Additionally, Mayank Agarwal, Manish Pandey, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer, and Washington Sundar have been given fresh contracts. 


In the form of shocking news, MS Dhoni, who was earlier placed in Grade A (INR 5 CR) salary bracket has not been given a renewed contract. BCCI, who has discussed this matter with MS Dhoni has revealed that a contract has been given to only those players who are going to represent Team India from October 2019 to September 2020.

We all know that MS Dhoni has made himself unavailable since the 2019 World Cup, and is officially not going to play any match before IPL 2020. He can still make it to the contract list on a pro-rata basis if he plays before September 2020, which ideally should be the 2020 T20 World Cup. 

Apart from MS Dhoni, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, and Khaleel Ahmed also have not been retained in the contract list. These three were dropped from the Indian squad recently, and it is quite unlike any of these would be seen anytime soon; especially Rayudu and Karthik.

So, here’s the list of Indian Men Cricketers with their salaries for 2019-20 as announced by BCCI. 

Indian Men:

Grade A+: INR 7 CR

Jasprit Bumrah, Rohit Sharma & Virat Kohli.

Grade A: INR 5 CR

Ajinkya Rahane, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ishant Sharma, KL Rahul, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Rishabh Pant & Shikhar Dhawan.

Grade B: INR 3 CR

Hardik Pandya, Mayank Agarwal, Umesh Yadav, Wriddhiman Saha & Yuzvendra Chahal.

Grade C: INR 1 CR

Deepak Chahar, Kedar Jadhav,  Hanuma Vihari, Manish Pandey, Navdeep Saini, Shardul Thakur, Shreyas Iyer & Washington Sundar.

Indian Women:

Indian Women see almost every player being retained in the contract list except for Mona Meshram. However, Mithali Raj has been demoted to Grade B. While Radha Yadav and Taniya Bhatia get an upgrade to Grade B. 

Meanwhile, among new entrants, Harleen Deol, Priya Puniya, and Shafali Verma get a fresh contract for 2019-20. These three are placed in Grade C. The salaries Indian Women Cricketers remain the same as INR 50L, INR 30L, and INR 10L. 

So, here’s a complete list of Indian Women Cricketers with their salaries for 2019-20.

Grade A: INR 50L

Harmanpreet Kaur, Poonam Yadav & Smriti Mandhana. 

Grade B: INR 30L

Deepti Sharma, Ekta Bisht, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jhulan Goswami, Mithali Raj, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey & Taniya Bhatia.

Grade C: INR 10L

Anuja Patil, Arundhati Reddy, D Hemalatha, Harleen Deol, Mansi Joshi, Pooja Vastrakar, Priya Punia, Punam Raut, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shafali Verma & Veda Krishnamurthy. 

Thanks for reading! Are you happy with the salaries of Indian players? Please, let us know in the comments.  

ALSO READ: What if IPL was a 6-a-side tournament? Here’s how the teams could line-up for IPL 2020

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics