Cricket News

India vs Sri Lanka 2021 Series Postponed – New Schedule Inside

COVID-19 pandemic causes India vs Sri Lanka series 2021 to be rescheduled as BCCI announces the revised new schedule.

If there was one thing that could pose a threat to the Cricketing world, it was the COVID-19 pandemic. Even with all the safety and bio bubble precautions, the upcoming tour of Sri Lanka saw some serious breach, and is now  postponed to a later date 

The Board of Contol for Cricket in India (BCCI) and Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced this Saturday afternoon that there has been two positive COVID-19 cases found in the camp. It is understood that Sri Lanka’s batting coach, Grant Flower and Video analyst, GT Norishan have been tested positive.

So, keeping the safety of players in mind, the tour has been postponed. The good thing, however is that the tour has been postponed only by a few days. BCCI in complete support of SLC announced that the tour would begin with the ODI series from July 18 instead of originally planned July 13. The tour would now end on July 29 as compared to originally planned July 25. 

So, here’s the official announcement by BCCI:

India vs Sri Lanka 2021 Series Revised Schedule

ODI Series:

  • 1st ODI: July 18 // Sunday
  • 2nd ODI: July 20 // Tuesday
  • 3rd ODI: July 23 // Friday

T20I Series: 

  • 1st T20I: July 25 // Sunday
  • 2nd T20I: July 27 // Tuesday
  • 3rd T20I: July 29 // Thursday

While the series has only been postponed by a few days, fans across India are waiting for the young guns to take on Sri Lanka. As many as 6 uncapped players have been included in the squad, and given Rahul Dravid’s history as a coach, he is most-likely to give a chance to everyone. 

Meanwhile, here’s the official squad for Team India for the 2021 Sri Lanka tour. 

India vs Sri Lanka 2021 Series – Official Squad for Team India: 

Batsmen: Devdutt Padikkal, Ishan Kishan (WK), Hardik Pandya*, Manish Pandey, Nitish Rana, Prithvi Shaw, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sanju Samson (WK), Shikhar Dhawan (C) & Suryakymar Yadav   

All-rounders: Krishnappa Gowtham and Krunal Pandya

Bowlers: Bhuvneshwar Kumar (VC), Chetan Sakariya, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Navdeep Saini, Rahul Chahar, Varun Chakravarthy & Yuzvendra Chahal

Net Bowlers: Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, R Sai Kishore, and Simarjeet Singh. 

Coach: Rahul Dravid // Captain: Shikhar Dhawan // Vice-captain: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

*Hardik is considered as a pure batsman for the time being as he isn’t bowling due to injury concerns.

The upcoming Sri Lanka tour for Team India would see a lot of young guns making their first appearance in International cricket. The likes of which include Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Nitish Rana, Krishnappa Gowtham, Varun Chakravarthy, and Chetan Sakariya. 

Almost all uncapped players have been included in the squad owing to their stunning Domestic performance. Having said that, maximum preference has been given to the latest IPL performance. Also, all eyes would also be on Prithvi Shaw, who would be eying the senior team comeback. 

Thanks for reading! Are you happy with the revised schedule for India vs Sri Lanka 2021 series? Please email your comments to

ALSO READ: India vs Pakistan Cricket Team Salary Analysis – Shocking Results

© AK4Tsay1 Cricalytics